Recycling In Glasgow

Today I got a leaflet through my letterbox from Glasgow City Council informing me that my household is to receive yet another wheel-bin, purple this time.

Now before you all start saying “It’s for the greater good of the earth” “Keep Glasgow clean” and all that stuff, I know the idea behind it is a good one but my point of this post is where does it all stop ?

As far as I know the last time I looked, rubbish and refuse collection was paid for under my council tax charge each year, but somewhere along the line they managed to squeeze in “Oh by the way, we want you to sort out all the rubbish into neat little piles for us to make our job easier” or what about this one ” Oh by the way, if you don’t do it we will have your ass up in court and fine you”.

I know exactly whats going on here !!!!, the introduction of the wheel-bin was not for the benefit of the collection workers to make their job easy, it is part of the big plan. A few years from now we will be told “That in order to cut costs there will be no more collection lorries so you will need to wheel your four wheel-bins 4 or 5 miles to the dump yourself, oh and if you don’t……. well you know what comes next, also we want more money from you”.

Q. So whats the purple bin all about ? A. Glass

They now want you to stand and remove all the lids and corks from bottles and jars !!!AND-REMEMBER!!! plastic lids go in the blue bin and all others go in the green bin, unless it is made out of grass then they would go in the brown bin, and clean them with nice fairy liquid (who’s going to pay for all the extra Fairy Liquid ?) so they are all nice and shiny for us to handle, it’s getting beyond a joke.  A couple of days ago I heard someone toot their car horn, I look over and he shouted to me “Hey mate, is this the local recycling plant”, because I don’t know about you, but my back garden is beginning to look like one with all these different colored collection points.

Seriously, Its not right that somewhere there is some person about too lose their job because the government have came up with the idea of yet another wheel-bin and get us to fill it to the specific requirements for free and then charge us more on council tax the following year.

The ironic thing is the person who got sacked from the recycling sorting plant now has a bin of their own and must do the same job for free, how cool is our government at coming up with ideas to screw us over.

So like I said ” Where does it all stop ?”.

5 comments on “Recycling In Glasgow”

  1. I must agree !! where does it stop ?

    Speaking for myself my back garden looks like the set of “The Wizard of Oz” As I have so may brightly coloured Recycle bins, I hear talk that their may be in the future another two coloured bins, One for human body waste and one for dog and cat shit.
    As I have neither a dog or a cat I may use these aforemetioned shit bins for hiding the body parts of my friendly Binmen ……… As I intend to kill them they make so much noise everytime they collect the refuse……………….. That incidentally I have taken the time to seperate for them.

    Perhaps it would be a good idea just to sack all the refuse technicians and we could all just have massive bonfires, or indeed convert our gardens into landfill sites

    As you say where will it end……… I will be keeping an eye on your posts for further updates.

    GlasgowEye

  2. I am lucky not to have to use these bins… as i live in a block of flats with a shoot for our rubbish. But i sympathize mainly with elderly people who are forced into these changes. How on earth are they supposed to understand what goes in what coloured bin and also what day that bin goes out for collection. Yet another problem for our elderly. No doubt the council have not considered this when they were handing out this job to the public.” So i agree with mark wholeheartly” I am proud of my son for bring this subject to our attention.

  3. I live near london, and where i live the council supply black bags for waste and orange bags for plastics,glass & cardboard etc etc, however they did send me a letter asking me to wash out my plastic and glass containers before putting them in the bags, so i wrote to them and asked them to pay my water rates before i even contemplate washing my rubbish, i never had a reply and still to this day don’t wash my rubbish.

  4. That’s the council for you no matter where you live up & down the country. If they think no one is looking they pass the buck to…YES! you guest it… the council tax payers.Washing out rubbish,fixing whats to go in what coloured bin,also taking bulk rubbish to our local tips. At this rate the bin truck will be a thing of the past and more jobs lost!!!


Leave a comment